Two of Three

Below is a quote that has passed in and out of education circles for the past few years. It is a powerful, strong, true quote. It is on the wall in my classroom by my desk so that when I think to look at it, I am reminded of the intensity of my job. It was “dressed up” for the classroom by the addition of a couple of key words.

“I have come to the frightening conclusion that I am the decisive element in my classroom. It is my personal approach that creates the climate. It is my daily mood that makes the weather. I possess tremendous power to make a child’s life miserable or joyous. I can be a tool of torture or an instrument of inspiration. I can humiliate or humor, hurt or heal. In all situations, it is my response that decides whether a crisis is escalated or de-escalated, and a child humanized or de-humanized.” Haim Ginott

I thought I had put it on my blog before. . .I did a search and didn’t find it, so I will put it on for the first or second time with the following changes.

“I have come to the frightening conclusion that I am the decisive element in my home. It is my personal approach that creates the climate. It is my daily mood that makes the weather. I possess tremendous power to make my family’s life miserable or joyous. I can be a tool of torture or an instrument of inspiration. I can humiliate or humor, hurt or heal. In all situations, it is my response that decides whether a crisis is escalated or de-escalated, and my family humanized or de-humanized.” Haim Ginott

Very overwhelming, very intense, very scary words. And very true.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One thought on “Two of Three

Tell me what ya think.

