Lighter Note Update: My Progress

Well, 12 days in I’ve lost 5.4 pounds, and I’m not starvin’ to death. In FACT, I eat Cheetos with my ham sandwich just about every day (baked Cheetos) AND I have dessert. Tonight I even had the enemy of all low carb diets–the potato. Red ones–boiled in crab boil along with a jalapeno and SALT. . .and they were delicious. But I did not over eat, because my body was busy trying to digest the THIRTY EIGHT GRAMS OF FIBER I’ve also had today.

I have found my key–watch the carbs, but load up on the fiber. Fiber, fiber, fiber. When my co-worker saw my Double Fiber Wheat Bread, she said, “Stove up are ya?” And we both laughed–’cause it’s not every day you hear a perfectly coiffed Brighton wearing girl use the word “stove” in THAT way. In fact I’ve not ever really been a “stove up” kinda gal. . .and I can say my high fiber intake has not caused any drastic changes in THAT department–but I am having my carbs and eating them too, ’cause I am finding that fiber keeps my blood sugar from taking those wonderful rollercoaster rides that it loves to do.

THAT is why high protein diets have worked for me in the past–it helped to control my blood sugar–but I’m tellin’ ya–high fiber is THE WAY TO GO. I’m not having cravings and I’m not “cheating” ’cause what I USED to cheat with is now chock full ‘o fiber.

Another new discovery today. . .Kelloggs makes a high fiber “snack cracker” that comes in garlic herb (delish–that’s what I bought) and multi grain. FIVE grams of fiber per 18 cracker serving–120 calories and 6 grams of fat and 19 carbs OR 14 NET carbs once you subtract the fiber. I’m not really watching my fat intake–but those are the biggies.

AND if you care to have it, the following is my doctored up Bran Muffin recipe

One Box Bran Muffin Mix (I get Hodgson Mill or whatever–it makes 6)
Follow directions on box but add one large carrot, grated, the zest of one large orange, 1/4 cup raisins, 1/4 tsp. cinnamon, and 1/4 tsp. ground cloves.

They are very yummy indeed. I let them sit overnight after they bake so all that wonderful stuff can work it’s magic, then I toss ’em in the freezer. I’ve been having one each morning for breakfast. I am normally a 2 or 3 muffin girl, but these are some DENSE muffins–so one is all I can handle.

Okay–’nuff info. . .just for those of you who are interested or, like me, have STRUGGLED with weight loss all your life–that’s where I am.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 thoughts on “Lighter Note Update: My Progress

  1. Well, I saw your blog page when I typed in the name “Roxanne” -which as you see, is my name. I am also dieting-the YOU Diet. I am also a teacher and also from the south-Mississippi. My sister calls me Sissy! I enjoy seeing your page. My blog is under construction-I just created it last night. I will check out your page again real soon.

  2. Wow. Go, you! I might have to try this fiber idea, especially since I’m starting to resemble my mother in all her hypoglycemic woes. Or maybe I could just cut back on the sugar? No.

  3. Fiber is awesome for, as you pointed out, regulating blood sugar which also keeps you from having that RAVENOUSLY hungry feeling. Good for you for finding the key. Gotta look for those Kellog’s crackers.

    Congrats on the 5 lb. loss — you and one other gal makes my success as a personal trainer/ dietitian 100%!! 🙂

  4. Great job on the high fiber diet. I think I need to make some of those muffins. I even have a box of All-Bran muffins in the cabinet.
    Have you been walking too?
    If so, come by and log your miles on our walk across America challenge. We miss you.

Tell me what ya think.

