One of those days when your best isn’t good enough, but it’ll have to do.

Today was one of those discouraging days. It began after lunch with my “hoodlum” class spilling the beans about a gang called D-Unit that had been formed and headed by a student I taught two years ago. There are several 6th grade boys in it, many of whom are my own students. The deeper I dug, the uglier it got–like lancing a wound. You know you have to do it, but you also have to be prepared for what heads your way. It’s very, very serious, and even though it’s only small time, the leader was arrested today for bringing a knife to school. Until my 6th period began talking (it’s a small class of reluctant readers), and I typed it all in an e-mail to the a.p. as fast as I could, no one had any idea what was going on.

While still in the middle of that, a teacher on my team brings me a note that one of our boys wrote to a 6th grade girl. It gave specific details that would be considered obscene in all 50 states and probably illegal in several.

And while I was in the office waiting to talk to my a.p. after school about the gang discovery and the note, a call came over the intercom from the nurses’ office that a 6th grade boy (again, MINE) had a head injury from falling in the hallway. He was bleeding from the back of his head, but his mother couldn’t get there for 45 minutes or more. Uh-huh. (Edited at 9:07: Just called to check on my student. He hit the corner of a large brick pillar. His mother did not take him to the doctor.)
I high tailed it to the nurse to check on him, since he was one that had “squealed” in 6th period. I wanted to make sure it wasn’t retaliation–although I hadn’t used any names in my e-mails other than the ones in the gang. It wasn’t retaliation. He and another student were playin‘” and he fell backward and hit a locker. That was at 2:40. His mother arrived at 4:10. She didn’t really have time to take him to the doctor for stitches and wasn’t sure if her doctor’s office was still open. He had a gash that was still bleeding.

THEN I find out that a teacher’s car got “rocked.” Which means someone threw a big rock onto the trunk denting the car.

Needless to say, I am feeling a bit overwhelmed. And all I have to do is report it to the a.p. and deputy constable, and they get to sort it all out tomorrow. . .the gang, the note, the bashed head, and the rock.

On a lighter note. If you didn’t know, tonight was $.31 night at Baskin Robbins. Victoria has been to 31 Flavors twice. Thad has never been. We love icecream, but prefer Blue Bell. So, I loaded them up and took ’em. We waited 30 minutes in a line that snaked and curved several times through the small store. I got Extreme Sherbet or something. . .it was very pretty turquoise blue, lime green, and magenta. It tasted like a blue raspberry popsicle turned into sherbet. All in all a good $.31. Victoria got Chocolate Fudge. So chocolate it was very nearly black. . .and Thad, well, Thad got vanilla.

So there.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 thoughts on “One of those days when your best isn’t good enough, but it’ll have to do.

  1. Atta boy Thad! I love vanilla also!

    Sorry about your day Roxanne, did you know it was a full moon day? “Yaoooooooo Werewolves of London!” “Mamma said there’d be days like this!” Cheer up today can only get better! Love ya!

  2. OH honey, you deserved all the ice cream you could get your spoon into! What a hard day. This post is good for the general public to read. We have NO IDEA what you guys go through on a daily basis. Thank you for investing in these kids. I hope you get to see that many, many of your former students go on to be productive citizens.

  3. I’ve mentioned to you before how your experiences have given me insight to why I did not end up in a school somewhere teaching… I would’ve gotten eaten alive in an environment like that.

    Interesting theory about the full-moon, Sandy. I think that gravitational pull sometimes has the power to yank us around a bit.

    I agree with Linda – stories like this are important for us, who are not inside the schools all day as you are, to read. (Equally, I sometimes wish J would write candidly about his life as a fire fighter…)

    Also – last night we had ice-cream premier for 2007 in our house. Something just said, mmmm, ice cream! Let’s have ice cream!

  4. That’s just crazy. Crazy, crazy, crazy. I’m so glad you’re there with your head on straight and your feet moving. Obviously the same can’t be said of the parents. That’s so sad.

  5. I’m just sitting here reading all the comments while eating a bowl of H&D chocolate almond vanilla. There is something about the comfort of eating ice cream.

  6. I am SO glad to know it was a full moon! THAT explains a LOT!! Do you know we don’t even have a Baskin Robbins in our Windy, Dusty Metropolis?

    AND you even gave your friend long distance pats over a clothing crisis!

Tell me what ya think.

