Movie Reviews as Promised

If you care for a rather long but comedically romantic, romantic comedy, then go right on ahead and rent “The Holiday.” It’s sort of brainless and could never happen, but all in all is a pleasant way to spend some time should you need that particular brand of recreation. Cameron Diaz sparkles–Jude Law, incredibly attractive and charming–Jack Black. . .very Jack Black. It IS PG-13 for a reason.

I ALSO recommend “Miss Potter.” Another very, very good movie and suitable for the whole family. The vistas were lovely, and it was beautifully done. I really, really, really liked this movie.

Get thee hence and rent away. . .

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 thoughts on “Movie Reviews as Promised

  1. I know nothing about Miss Potter — will have to look into it for family movie night. I did enjoy The Holiday — total chick flick, but a good brain vacation.

  2. I’ll watch anything with Jack Black! I’ll even put up with Cameron Diaz *eyeroll* and Jude Law *nanny-on-the-side, anyone* for a nice brainless romantic comedy.

  3. Have you seen “About a Boy” with Hugh Grant? Another cute RC that I loved (even if Hugh Grant is overrated.) Also, “High Fidelity” – an older film – with the cute-cute Jack Cusack (also has Jack Black, but in a minor role.)
    And although I wish I knew French so I did not have to read the subtitles, “Amelie” is by far one of my favorite – so creatively playful and full of mischief!

  4. I watched “Amelie” on your suggestion–liked it too.

    My favorite romantic comedies are as follows. . .

    While You were Sleeping
    Two Weeks’ Notice
    You’ve Got Mail
    Sleepless in Seattle
    When Harry Met Sally

    If you’ve not seen “Two Weeks’ Notice” go and rent it NOW, NOW, NOW. . .it totally cracks me UP. “I don’t like boats.” “Surely not ALL boats.” “Yes, ALL boats.” Loved it.

  5. I have seen all those movies! Of all of them, I think I like You’ve Got Mail the best. Maybe it was the whole “book store” thing, the way I enjoy going to bookshops so much. And his dog was so cute. How could any girl resist a guy who has a cute dog?! 🙂

  6. “You’ve Got Mail” – I had to have the soundtrack and I hear “clouds of blue” whenever I think of it. Oh wait, isn’t that “Sleepless in Seattle?” Aren’t they the same movie? Almost.

    I can’t wait to see “Miss Potter” – it looks so sweet. I wanna do a girl’s night with the new movie about Jane Austen, too. Wanna visit?

Tell me what ya think.

