The cable time capsule.

We do not have cable t.v. in our house in Houston. It’s not a moral/ethical decision. . .it’s a monetary one. That being said, we love us some Discovery Channel and A&E and History Channel. When we come to my parent’s house, Tony is in science teacher heaven.

Yesterday, unbeknowst to me, I was whisked back in time. . .far, far back to my childhood. “Hee Haw” is alive and well on the The Nashville Network. Who knew? I heard Conway Twitty and Loretta Lynn and Dolly Partin and Connie Stevins and Hank Williams Jr. I heard and saw skits I’d long since forgotten. . .though some have stayed imbedded in my mind all of these years. I forgot about the jokes in the corn patch. Here’s the one that made me laugh yesterday, ’cause it’s either funny, or I was “virtually inebriated” from all of the fake moonshine they had flowing on the show. . .

Hee Haw Honey: Archie, you’re a handsome man. Aren’t you ever gonna get married?
Archie: No, Lisa. I plan on stayin’ footloose and fiance free.

Oh. My. Goodness.

“Doom, despair, and agony on me. Deep, dark depression, excessive misery. If it weren’t for bad luck, I’d have no luck at all. Doom, despair, and agony on me.” Can I get an amen?

It’s a time warp I’m tellin’ ya.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 thoughts on “The cable time capsule.

  1. I love the bluegrass and all the old folk songs. If it ain’t the fiddle and the mandolin that get me, it’s the lyrics.

    The last line of the song The Arkansas Traveler:

    But the old man kept on a-playing at his reel,
    And tapped the ground with his leathery heel.
    Get along, said he, for you give me a pain;
    My cabin never leaks when it doesn’t rain.

    Just learned that the Arkansas Traveler was the state song of Arkansas until sometime in the 1960’s. If that’s not a reason to love Arkansas, I don’t know what is!

  2. Oh i hated this show when I was little. I was just sure it was shot in my city somewhere. My parents watched it, but strangely, they weren’t country music fans. I guess when you only had three networks, you watched what was available. Thanks for the memories–I think.

  3. i grew up on Hee-Haw!!!
    my favorite was the corn patch – when they stood in the corn rows and popped up to tell jokes! yes ma’am
    and the song:
    where oh where are you tonight…
    why did you leave me here all alone?
    i searched the world over & thought i found true love…
    you met another & thpfft! you were gone!
    LOL!!!!!!
    i WISH i could type in Southern drawl.

  4. I love Junior Samples. “BR 5-4-9”

    I watched Hee Haw MANY weekends with my Papa and Granny.

    It always bothered Mama that they could have all that cleavage on there and still sing a hymn.

  5. Can’t believe you are less than a 4 hour drive from me today. Have a safe trip home. Counting down to September!

  6. I live in a semi-rural area and drive around in the very-rural areas quite often. I see those green population signs and always say in my head…

    ______, Texas. Population 462. Yee-haw!!!

    Sad, I know.

Tell me what ya think.

