“May I direct your attention to the center ring. . .”

The boy was just a one child circus today at church. Oh. My. Good. Ness. He was in fine form–never truly horrible enough for me to take him out and warm the seat of his britches (which hasn’t happened in YEARS), but just beyond words. He was up. He was down. He was happy. He was mopey. He wanted Victoria. He didn’t want Victoria. He wanted me. He didn’t want me. It’s at times like this that I seat him next to his Daddy, however his Daddy was serving communion this morning, so we had to suffer through the large part of the worship service without him.

The capper was when, at the end of services, I looked over to see Thad with his church bag over his head. Over his head, y’all. I just elbowed Tony and said, “Your son has a bag on his head.” He immediately became the ward of his father, and thank goodness it was almost time to go.

As I rode home, exhausted though Tony had taken pity on me and honored my request for a diet Coke from Sonic to drink ON THE WAY home, the following conversation began taking place in the back seat.

Thad: “Sister? You’re not the boss of me.”
Victoria: Silence
Thad: “Hey! You’re not the boss of me.”
Victoria: Silence
Thad (singing as though on a playground saying Nah-Nah-Nah-Boo-Boo. You can’t catch me.):
“You’re not the boss of me. You’re not the boss of me. You’re not the boss of me.”
Tony: Unable to correct his son due to silently stifling laughter
Me: “THADDAEUS WALTON THAT IS ENOUGH!!!!!”
(Three minutes of golden silence followed.)
Thad: “Hey, Sister, guess what???”
Victoria (rather tiredly expecting the answer): “What?”
Thad (as though he’d won a prize): “You’re not the boss of me!!!”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 thoughts on ““May I direct your attention to the center ring. . .”

  1. At what age is church attendance/ child-training not akin to being in hand-to-hand combat by the time you leave? We’re getting closer, but we aren’t there yet. I’m VERY proud of Victoria for ignoring him — she was probably worn slap out, too, from sitting next to him — but he is a HOOT!

  2. Which is why after his comment, that we all saw coming a mile away, I just gave up the fight and laughed and laughed and laughed. There was simply nothing else to do. PLUS, I had my diet Coke with good ice. 🙂

  3. Do ya think Thad is trying to make a point or something??? Having been a big sister to a little brother (still am!) I suspect Victoria’s silence was nothing short of pleading the 5th 🙂

    I love how Thad was standing his ground, making himself quite clear!

  4. I admit she can be very, very bossy. . .but in all honesty, he was probably picking his nose–which she ABHORS–and she probably told him to stop. . .and which point he decided to remind her that she’s not the boss of his nose picking. 🙂

  5. Which she most certainly is NOT, unfortunately. I still can’t get the girls to abhor it, so I don’t hold out much hope for Jonah yet. That Thad is going to be the life of the kindergarten, on his circus days.

  6. Pingback: You’ve won. . .A NEW CAR!!!!! « It be's that way sometimes.

Tell me what ya think.

