Dry as the Sahara

No, I’m not talking about the actual land around our house. We’re rather soggy. I’m talking about my daughter’s sense of humor. She inherited it from her daddy.

I have been known to say a humorous thing or two. . .but mine is normally southern, fast talkin’, loud kind of humor that I find more humorous than anyone else. So, people end up laughing more at me laughing at myself than at what I actually said. (Sarah will confirm this.)

My husband, however, has that dry, droll, understated, straight-faced sense of humor that catches you off guard. And it appears that our daughter has inherited it.

While in Galveston, Tony and I were being lazy one morning after breakfast. The kids were in our room begging us to play, but we were just done in. Finally Victoria said, “So what do you want us to do?” To which Tony replied, “Oh, go outside and play in the street.” This would normally have been met by shocked indignation on the part of Victoria, but this day she put her arm protectively around Thad’s shoulder and said, “Well, come on Thad. Let’s go. I know how to twist the key to open the door.”

She and her daddy are both so serious most of the time that you just don’t expect it from them. He pretty much floors me with something on a daily basis, as in the other night when we were delivering the children to his parent’s house. Thad said, “Daddy, what is an F-O-U?” (He asked his daddy, because his daddy knows a lot of stuff.) Tony looked a bit confused, so I said, “I think he means a UFO.” To which Tony replied, straight-faced, “Well, son, a UFO is an Unidentified Flying Object. It’s what most people call a flying saucer. Of course, if you’ve identiied it as a flying saucer, it’s no longer unidentified.”

See. He floors me. . .’cause he’s funny, but to him it’s just logic.

So just now Victoria was upstairs trying on hand-me-down jeans for the fall. She is so long-legged and willowy and grown up that it just takes my breath away. After several pairs had made it off and on, I said, “Sugar, come here. I need to hold you.” She immediately came over, plopped herself down in my lap, laid her head on my shoulder while twining her arms around my neck and said, “I’m getting to be a big girl.” And I said, “Yes, you are.” And she said, “Go ahead . Cry, Momma. I don’t care.”

Which made me laugh and laugh and laugh.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 thoughts on “Dry as the Sahara

Tell me what ya think.

