Bill Cosby would be so proud

The same man who watched Star Trek and received All the Knowledge of the Digital Revolution? Yeah. That one.

Last night we had pork chops for dinner. I had cut up one to split between the kids. Near the end of the meal Thad was complaining that his tummy was full–then three minutes later wanted to know if he could have some candy for dessert.

I said, “Boy, did you eat your meat?”

Tony piped up and said, “Can you have your pudding?”

Thad immediately says, “We have pudding?????”

And I immediately say, “We have pudding????”

‘Cause I know that I didn’t make any pudding, and Tony is not in the HABIT of making pudding, and, therefore, the likelihood of us having pudding is a very, very minute likelihood indeed.

While Thad begins doing the Pudding Dance accompanied by the Pudding Chant, I ask Tony again, “We have pudding?” (In the background “Pudding! Pudding! Pudding!”) And he says, “I dunno. . .’How can you have any pudding if you don’t eat yer meat?'”

(Pudding dance STILL going on–like a version of “walking man” that a 6 year old who can’t dance might do whilst chanting, “Pudding! Pudding! Pudding!”)

This entire conversation took place in the span of just under a minute, and I then realized that Tony was, in actuality, just being himself and Thad, who has never heard of Pink Floyd or a Pink Floyd song and has NO idea of the pop cultural significance of the line his Daddy just said to me, is expecting some pudding.

I then said, as Victoria joins in the Pudding Dance/Chant, “You don’t even SAY pudding in the hearing of a 6 year old if you don’t know for sure we have some.”

His reply? “Sorry.”

Guess what I made for dessert. At least it has calcium. And it was sugar free. So I had some too.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

And on a completely different note, today is Sarah’s birthday. Go on over and wish her some happiness.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 thoughts on “Bill Cosby would be so proud

  1. Moving my comment from where it somehow bounced:

    Your comments… they’re moving. . .

    And oh my word, methinks the man who says “pudding” must needs make said pudding.

  2. haha! This cracks me up because the Pink Floyd song lyric line was the first thing that popped into my head as soon as I read Tony’s piped up question! I probably would’ve chimed right in and said, “If you don’t eat your meat if you can’t have any pudding” in my best Roger Waters accent possible!

  3. “Hey, teachers! leave those kids alone!” ha. Roxanne, thanks for your comments on my blog–you did NOT hijack it. I appreciate every word and plan to work with your ideas. Thanks!

  4. Pingback: You’ve won. . .A NEW CAR!!!!! « It be's that way sometimes.

Tell me what ya think.

