Think Pink

Everything is fine.

That being said, on Thursday I went to my GP to have him look at a dime-sized pinkish rash that had been on my right breast for over three weeks. . .a little itchy. . .but mainly just becoming a worry. Cortisone cream wasn’t working. . .it had started out just looking like a bug bite or something. It had remained the same size, shape, and color for the entirety of its little, bothersome existence. It just wouldn’t go away.

He gave me some prescription strength cortisone to use and it seems to be doing the trick, but I think I’ll still keep my appointment with my ob-gyn on Monday just ’cause it will make me feel better to have them take a look at it too.

I am not a hypochondriac, but I was concerned about my unexplained and tenacious little spot. I very rarely get ill, and when I do it’s normally due to lack of sleep coupled with some errant germ that I catch from one of the many children with whom I’m in contact on a daily basis. I AM very aware of my body and how it behaves. I hope you are too. This was not normal for me, so it was worth the time and co-pay to get it looked at.

Four years ago I had a friend who was diagnosed with Inflammatory Breast Cancer. If you’ve not heard of IBC, it is very rare–and very aggressive–and presents itself in many, many ways. You can go from nothing at all to swelling, fever, and pain overnight. Or it can start out as just general itching. Or it can start out with a rash that looks like a bug bite. You don’t HAVE to have a lump to have breast cancer. Inflammatory breast cancer can also happen to very young women, rarely to men, and to women who are breast feeding. It has often been mistaken as mastitis, thought cases are rising so people are becoming more aware.

Ironically this is breast cancer awareness month. I hope you are takin’ care of the girls by doing monthly exams, keeping your yearly appointment with your gynecologist, and if you are between 35 and 40 you’ve had a baseline mammogram. My doc does them at 35 just to get a jump on anything.

I am glad my “nothing” truly turned out to be NOTHING. If you have a “nothing”, make sure to get it checked out too–and encourage those around you to do the same.

🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 thoughts on “Think Pink

  1. You scared me to death! (I only read the first two lines before frantically searching the page for some deathly announcement that I somehow missed.) But you are in fact alive, and well. Phew. Another friend of mine just had a scare as well. Hers was mastitis (two years AFTER she stopped nursing!), but the general practitioner here was just sure it was a tumor. We were so scared. Doesn’t it seem like it’s everywhere sometimes?

  2. I am glad you are OK- still keep that apt with your GYN. Just to be safe. Thanks for sharing this in case someone reading may have a “nothing” that is “something.”

  3. I’m so glad things are ok Roxanne!

    I go next month as my pap came back abnormal. I’m not sure why as I had a partial hysterectomy 22 years ago. I try not to think upon it much as God gives us challenges that test our faith and strength and I have to believe whatever comes my way is God’s will and it is up to me to have a positive attitude about it. No point seeing the gloom.

    It is always a good thing to play it safe so I agree, visiting your GYN is just another safety valve.

    Love and blessings Roxanne.

Tell me what ya think.

