“And step by step you’ll lead me. . .”

There is a song by the late Rich Mullins called “Sometimes By Step.” We don’t normally sing the whole song–just the chorus.

“Oh, God. You are my God,
And I will ever praise you.
Oh, God. You are my God,
And I will ever praise you.
I will seek you in the morning,
And I will learn to walk in your ways,
And step by step you’ll lead me,
And I will follow you all of my days.
And I will follow You all of my days.
And I will follow You all of my days.
And step by step you’ll lead me,
And I will follow you all of my days.

The first time I heard Victoria sing that song, we were sitting in a drive thru at the bank. She was about three and a half. We had sung it at church several times, but she wasn’t really singing during services then. I had the radio on the Christian station here in Houston, and the song came on–it sounds different on the radio than when we sing it at church–but from the back seat, I heard her little voice singing the chorus. It took my breath away.

“And step by step you’ll lead me, and I will follow you all of my days. . .”

The all encompassing scope of those words–the faith–the surrender–she didn’t know what it meant, but she sang it and she knew it was about God. I am older, “wiser”, but I don’t completely know the scope of those words either. I know it’s about God. And I know that I believe it.

I can barely get through the song anytime, but today, when I heard her sing it again during services, I thanked God that he is leading us as Tony and I lead her, and I prayed that he give us the grace to follow him all of our days. I prayed the same thing for her and for Thad. Those words have been written on their hearts.

Here’s the song on You Tube. This is one is a duet with Bebo Norman, but I thought the film with it was really cool.

And just for fun, you might want to hear this one too.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 thoughts on ““And step by step you’ll lead me. . .”

  1. Isn’t it awesome that He leads us step by step, one at a time. Like a father with a child learning to walk or crossing a busy street. Shows how much He loves us!

  2. My backseat had “Hosanna” coming out of it last week – both of my kids love that song.

    I remember the kids at camp playing the that cup game but the song was “Ricky Ticky Bear.” I can still sing the song…..

  3. Roxanne, I loved this. My mother’s heart skipped a beat at the thought of her voice expressing those words that we hope for our children so deeply, that step by step He will lead them and that they will follow all of His ways. Great, great post.

Tell me what ya think.

