Abeja

That is “bee” in Spanish. . .as in buzz, buzz. . .it is ONE of the the words I’ve learned from my kiddos. They are very happy that I can say “abeja”–which is pronouned “ah-bay-ha.” See? Now you can say “bee” in Spanish too. Aren’t you glad you clicked over here to make sure I was still breathing.

I am, indeed, breathing.

Daddy is in the hospital. They went in to see if the blod clot was gone, but it’s not. In fact, there is a great big ‘ole clot in there that is not being pumped around because the valve isn’t working. The doctor said it’s like jello. Not good. SO, he is back on the cumaudin again, and they are waiting for his level to be where it needs to be so he can go home and wait some more so he can go back and see if they can shock his heart back into rhythm in 6-8 weeks.

It’s a good thing the fish aren’t biting anyway.

And my friend Amy who was radioactive for a weekend not too long ago got some not so great news–the treatment didn’t work like they thought, and so she is waiting too. She will probably have to do radiation again.

Please pray for them as they are in “the waiting place.” When I was a high school Senior, I got not one but two copies of “Oh the Places You’ll Go” by Dr. Seuss, (you can find the entire text here, and if you’ve never read or not read it in awhile, it’s worth your five minutes) and he quite eloquently describes The Waiting Place.

“. . .headed, I fear, toward a most useless place.
The Waiting Place…

…for people just waiting.
Waiting for a train to go
or a bus to come, or a plane to go
or the mail to come, or the rain to go
or the phone to ring, or the snow to snow
or waiting around for a Yes or a No
or waiting for their hair to grow.
Everyone is just waiting.

Waiting for the fish to bite
or waiting for wind to fly a kite
or waiting around for Friday night
or waiting, perhaps, for their Uncle Jake
or a pot to boil, or a Better Break
or a sting of pearls, or a pair of pants
or a wig with curls, or Another Chance.
Everyone is just waiting.

NO!
That’s not for you!

Somehow you’ll escape
all that waiting and staying.
You’ll find the bright places
where Boom Bands are playing.”

Now, don’t get me wrong. I’m not saying that all waiting is useless or ill spent. God commands us to wait very, very often. But, it can be tiresome and long and discouraging, so I am hoping that very soon they are both back to where the Boom Bands are playing. Until then, please remember them often to The One who asks us to wait upon Him.

And while you’re at it, have a good week.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 thoughts on “Abeja

  1. I’ll be praying that the waiting is over soon, and that the outcomes are lovely and good for both of them. And I’m glad you’re breathing. And learning Spanish. You Texans should know Spanish. 😉

  2. Rebecca, Me lo imaginaba! (that’s about the only Spanish I know and we throw it around all the time at this house). Yes, we Texans should learn Spanish. And it makes my brain tired.

    I don’t like waiting, either. It seems like we should be DOING something while we wait. But God says, “Be still.” I’m not still well.

Tell me what ya think.

