Hope

Such a tiny, little word–hope–but it makes all the difference in the world.

Thousands of years ago one of the writers of Proverbs said , “A word aptly spoken is like apples of gold in settings of silver.”

Thecardiologist who was assigned to Daddy caused such dismay earlier in the week. But when he visited my father today he said, “Sir, I’ll tell you a secret. Dr. Lawrie (the surgeon) turns lots of patients like you down. But he feels that you can make it. You are vibrant. You have a good attitude. And you WANT to live.”

So my father sounded and looked better tonight than he has in several days.

Hope.

Apples of gold.

Settings of silver.

I need to remember that my words can change someone’s despair to hope. . .or their hope to despair.

Still no time for the surgery on Monday. I’ll post it as soon as I know.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 thoughts on “Hope

  1. I love your daddy, stuffed cougar and all 🙂
    Sending prayers and a hug for tomorrow. It sounds like the Doctor has hope as well, thanks to your Daddy with his great tenacity and his amazing family nearby.

  2. Hope, love and faith… imagine, your Daddy is a grand example to all of us when we are feeling low, have a down day or just don’t want to get up in the morning. My prayers are with him and thank you Roxanne for sharing your story about your Dad.

Tell me what ya think.

