A Picture is Worth a Thousand Words

daddy-in-boat.jpg

There are many, many things I would love to tell you about my Daddy, but it would take a really long time. So I will tell you just a few things and then show you some pictures.

My Daddy was hard-headed, stubborn, and tough.

He was tender-hearted, loving, and friendly.

Among the 400-ish people who came to the visitation at the funeral home and the 400-ish people who attended the funeral, the most profoundly affected by Daddy’s death were the crusty old hunting and fishing buddies–the men who are just about as hard-headed and stubborn and tough as Daddy was. They were undone, unable to speak. They wept openly.

I told Momma I was reminded of when Jesus went to the tomb of Lazarus, and upon seeing how sad his sisters were and the emotion of the people, Jesus wept. The crowd that was present said, “See how he loved the man.” These men of which I speak loved the man Harold Watts, and even though it was not said in life, Daddy knew, and it poured from his friends at his passing.

So I give you some pictures to help explain my Daddy. We had these and many more at the funeral home. The body that was in the casket served Daddy as well as it could. After housing his indomitable spirit for 68 1/2 years under more than trying circumstances it deserved to be treated with respect. But the man everyone knew was to be found in the photographs and in the roar of stories and laughter that came from the gathering of friends and family. It’s a shame Daddy missed it, ’cause he would have had a great time.

Daddy won this trophy when he was in the Air Force in Homestead, Florida
daddy-and-gun-trophy-blog.jpg

My sister blowing kisses to Momma
daddy-and-sissy-blog.jpg

Fishing in Florida
daddy-and-snook.jpg

The day Daddy killed the cougar. He had just lost his leg.
daddy-and-cougar-2.jpg

Skeet shooting
daddy-shooting-skeet-blog-2.jpg

Daddy loved the hunting dogs. I am the one in the striped dress.
daddy-and-kids-with-dogs.jpg

This was taken when I was in high school. The deer was HUGE.
daddy-with-big-deer-blog.jpg

Church directory
momma-and-daddy.jpg

4th of July
momma-and-daddy-4th.jpg

My wedding
roxannes-wedding-blog.jpg

Daddy and Thad
pop-baby-thad-02.jpg

A highlight of the summer visit was a tractor ride from Pop
pop-and-kids-on-tractor.jpg

This is the picture Thad requested for his room
pop-and-thad-on-tractor.jpg

Daddy in the club house with my eldest nephew, Gavin
pop-in-tree-house.jpg

All of us at Christmas–I think this was 2004
watts-christmas-blog.jpg

Can you tell he loved to fish?
daddy-with-big-fish.jpg

This photo was taken in January. He and Momma had bought a camp over on one of his favorite fishing spots so he could fish off the dock when he could no longer get into the boat. He never got to enjoy it, but we will think of him every time we go over there. This photo is the one that made Momma cry. I think he’s looking to heaven.
daddy-on-the-bonne-a-dee-blog.jpg

Thank you for your prayers, your kind words, your concern over the illness and passing of my father from this life. He lives on in each of us who knew him, and we hope that the image of him you see through us is one that would make him proud.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 thoughts on “A Picture is Worth a Thousand Words

  1. A picture is worth a thousand words. Thank you for sharing such special images of your dad. He was a strong, rugged kind man, atleast that is what I see in his face throughout the pictures.
    My thoughts and prayers are with your family.
    Love,
    Tammy

  2. What a beautiful tribute! I can’t seem to stop crying. We should all be so blessed to have had such a great dad.
    You never left my thoughts this last week and you will continue to be in my prayers.
    I know your Dad is smiling down from some lake up in heaven after he has caught a “Big’un”.
    My love,
    Amy

  3. I see both your and Victoria’s eyes in his. I love that picture with Thad and him on the tractor. John was impressed that he shot a mountain lion. And that was one HUGE deer.

    You have a beautiful family.

  4. Stopped in to check on you and found these treasures. I could show you pictures of my own Daddy in the same poses. Hard to see them without crying for you and your family. I am so, so sorry for you, Roxanne. I just wish I could give you a big hug.

  5. Dear Roxanne, Your father was such a handsome man! The pictures made me cry, especially the one of your Mom and Dad. You have such wonderful memories of the love you all shared. These are the treasures God gives to us, they are our comfort on days when the missing seems unbearable. Love to you and your family Roxanne.

  6. Ok, that last picture made ME cry. I didn’t know your dad but I definitely get a sense of his spirit through your beautiful pictures.

    Love to your and your family.

  7. As you know, your family is beautiful. Your Momma and all you “kids” and YOUR kids are still in my prayers. Love to you all!

    Terrell

  8. Roxanne, thanks for sharing this wonderful tribute to your Dad. I am sorry I couldn’t be there for the funeral. Please tell your Mom how much your family means to me. I haven’t seen pictures of your kids in so long. They grow so fast. Enjoy every moment.

Tell me what ya think.

