Swollen

Okay. . .so I am trying to not be grumpy as there are many, many, many WORSE maladies than the one I am currently suffering. That being said, I’m feelin’ a little grumpy. Should you have any ideas as to the cause of this–no matter how far fetched–please, let me know.

Before I tell you my symptoms, let me also tell you that I have been adusted by chiropractors (my sister and a local one) three times in the past two weeks, AND I have been to my GP who ordered a full battery of blood work yesterday. My blood pressure is 120 over 70. My pulse is 68. Lungs clear. I do not smoke. I do not take excessive medications–and what I DO take, I’ve taken for the past four years with no problems. I will be 39 in August. I need to lose at least 40 pounds–which I am slowly, but surely doing having lost about 16 pounds since the fall. I walk for exercise.

That being said. My legs, knees, and ankles are SWOLLEN–puffy–uncomfortable. It started 2 weeks ago when I noticed that my left ankle was swelling for no apparent reason. Over the past two weeks, the problem has, literally, ballooned. I feel like I’m either 70 (NO offense to anyone who is 70) or pregnant–and I’m neither. My GP says that the most reasonable explanations are–and he is QUITE confident that these don’t apply to me at all–that I am in congestive heart failure, have chronic hepatitis, or kidney disease. Since none of those seem to be the culprit, then we turn to my (obvious) need to lose weight. But I have been overweight ALL my life and NEVER had trouble with edema of the legs unless I was in my last few weeks of pregnancy–puffy hands a face on a week by week basis–not legs or feet. Possibly hormones due to approaching mid-life? I’ve had my thyroid checked at least three times since Thad was born for various and sundry other symptoms–it’s always normal.

So while I wait for my blood results–which I expect to be perfectly normal–does anyone have any suggestions?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 thoughts on “Swollen

  1. No, I have no suggestions, other than my standard water — lots and lots — and ibuprofen for swelling. That IS annoying, and I am glad you are looking into all the possibilities. We wake up with itchy hands at my house — that’s our weird malady. Father and daughter wake up with weird, red, itchy spots on their palms every once in a while for no apparent reason. We’re weird, too.

  2. I’m so glad you are seeing a doctor and having things checked out. I admit I have been quietly alarmed (!) hoping you would get a perfectly treatable diagnosis.

    The malady in our house? Teenageritis.

  3. I’m sorry about your leg. My mother has serious swelling of her left leg due to lymph issues.

    If you want, I can draw attention to how gorgeous you look on Sunday so that you won’t think about your leg.

    Hope you feel better.

Tell me what ya think.

