From the church bulletin

Just a tidbit of wisdom from the bulletin published by the congregation where I grew up. Thought it was a good, little lesson.

It Doesn’t Belong to You

One day when I was about eight, I was playing beside an open window while Mrs. Hegar confided to my mother a serious problem concerning her son. When she was gone my mother, realizing that I had heard everything, said, “If Mrs. Hegar had left her purse here today, would we give it to anyone else?” “Of course not, ” I replied. Then mother continued, “Mrs. Hegar left something far more precious than her pocketbook today. She left a story that could make many people unhappy. That story is not ours to give to anyone. It is still hers, even though she left it. So we will not give it to anyone. Do you understand?”

I did. And I have understood ever since that a confidence or a bit of careless gossip which a friend has left as my house is his, not mine, to give to anyone.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 thoughts on “From the church bulletin

Tell me what ya think.

