As the House Turns

Update to earlier, whiny, angst-riddled post:
Tony and I have frequently said over the past few days that God sees what is around the bend. So whether this is “being used for good” or whether it’s “just life” all is well. I’ll have Sell This House photos for you later on next week. We don’t have cable, but I’ve seen just enough to know I need to make the house look like a hotel room. The only nod we have towards personal things are two photos of the kids on the baker’s rack in the kitchen, and the painting Stephanie did for us in the sitting area of the bedroom. I NEEDED those around.

Let me preface this all by saying that we consider ourselves very blessed to be building a new home AND we also know that there will be snags and glitches along the way.

HOWEVER, we have hit a BIG snag. Let’s just say that due to some roots/wood/etc. that was not scraped off the lot (and Tony and I asked the guy who supposedly scraped it–not someone we hired but someone who was contracted by the builder), the forms will have to be pulled up, the lot rescraped, and the forms rebuilt. This is not free. It is also not fast. It has also postponed (again) our trip to see my mom.

We were supposed to leave today. That didn’t happen based on when the house was going on the market. So we were supposed to leave tomorrow, but now we have to meet our lot supervisor and HIS supervisor on Monday to discuss the destruction of all the work done so far.

That doesn’t mean we won’t get to go EVER, but tomorrow is my birthday, and it was going to be the first time in about 17 years that I was going to be home ON my birthday. It was especially going to be significant as this year has been a little tough on all of us.

Anyway, my mom does not get her feathers ruffled by much, so she was as gracious about our further cancellation as she is about everything, but I am sad. And I cried. And now I need a nap, but there is more work to be done. And then there is the big meeting on Monday where we have to determine exactly whose “fault” this all is. Was it OUR guy who dropped the ball or THEIR guy who dropped the ball or a combination of the two? It will not be heated (except for the actual temperature), but it will not be pleasant.

On the good side, our realtor was so pleased with all of the work we had done on the house (it was a PIT when she came the first time with tons of boxes to go to storage stacked at the front door) that she raised the asking price $4,000. That MIGHT be enough to cover the destruction and rebuilding of the forms and the additional dirt that has to be brought in based on if we have to pay for it or not. *Sigh*

5 thoughts on “As the House Turns

  1. Stephanie

    I’m sorry about the snag and that you won’t make it to your mom’s for your birthday.

    If I was there I would give you a hug and take you out for your birthday 🙂

  2. Well, have a happy birthday anyway, darn it. But that really, really sucks. You guys amaze me with the way you tough it out and get things done, on time even! You make a very good team.

  3. And THEN, there was your crummy friend who was so busy… I don’t know, growing the hair on her legs, that she failed to so much as put a postcard in the mail for your birthday! She stinks…

    Hope it’s been happy. Hope there is a chocolate cake somewhere in your future (or VERY recent past). And a side of Diet Coke.

Tell me what ya think.