Humor Me (again)

Oh, it’s been a long, long week. AND we are very nearly out of school for Christmas. AND I don’t know what happened to December. Santa will have to find us at Momma’s house for Christmas this year. . .and we are all ready to get there. We haven’t been there ON Christmas day since Victoria was a baby.

Meanwhile things are GOING CRAZY at the house. Here’s the short version: Tony and I laid 625 ft. of water line on Saturday, then we took the day off work to be there today when they installed the septic system and drove up to find many, many more suprises–all (thankfully) good. See below.

This is what PART of a 625 foot trench looks like. You can’t REALLY see how far it goes, so you’ll just have to take my word for it. It’s LONG. It is, actually, 2 football fields long. . .plus 8 additional feet. It’s long. Very. Very. Long.

water-line

Tony operated the machinery. I was there for moral support and as a general go-fer of sorts. Plus I helped lay the pipe and backfill the dirt, but I’ll spare you those photos. We were very happy that when the septic dudes needed water today, they had it.

We plan to never do this again, so do not ask. But we CAN tell you where to rent a Ditch Witch.

waterline-tony

At the end of the road where our water main is located, there is also a telephone pole. It has this faded tape flapping and flying from it. I’m sure it used to be orange or pink or something. I don’t know what possessed me, but I walked over to look at it.

texi-taped-pole-words

And this is what I found, people. It is emblazoned with little Texases. . .Texii, if you will. Only in Texas would the state PAY to have little Texii emblazoned on the plastic tape they use to tie to telephone poles on a road in the middle of NOWHERE. Puh-leez.

texi-tape-words

When I pointed this out to Tony (who bleeds all three colors of the Texas flag–and in their correct order I might add), he smiled knowingly with just a hint of smugness as though he would expect nothing less of the Grand and Glorious Empire. And the same thing happened on Sunday when I showed the photo to his Dad–also a Texan born and bred. His mom, who is from Louisiana like me, was just as puzzled–and disgusted–as I was.

It was stinkin’ cold in southeastern Texas today–and gray–and dreary, so when we drove up the house very early this morning Tony said, “Is that a light?” And, indeed, it was. It was several lights, actually, as they had been left on all night long. Seeing as how we are PAYING for the lights, we turned them off, but it was nice to be able to stay after dark tonight and SEE.

(Forgive the blurry photo. . .I was taking it at dusk and my hands were shaking ’cause it was C-O-L-D, plus I couldn’t use the flash.)

lights-words

Okay–I am so incredibly relieved to have all the components of the kitchen put together at last. I could see it in MY mind. . .all the samples and paint chips and ideas and photos from magazines had meshed together into EXACTLY what I wanted, but Tony’s mind (though brilliant) does not function that way. I was nervous that things might not work out. . .but they did. . .and they installed our granite today!!!! It was still very dusty as they were working, but here’s a sneak preview. (The paint is not in this photo because white subway tile will be installed as a backsplash.)

kitchen-granite

The other issue was the flooring in the kitchen and breakfast room. We decided to forego ceramic tile to save money and, instead, use the same flooring as we had for the gameroom/craftroom/powder room. We had planned a very dark slate-type tile for the kitchen, and I was more than a little nervous about how the change would look. . .and what Tony would think.

It is now in as well and has gotten the THUMBS UP from Mr. Texas. He said, “It’s fine,” and also, “Instead of replacing it as soon as we can, we don’t have to replace it until it needs replacing.” That is some HIGH praise, y’all.

Breakfast room
kitchen-floor

Powder room
powder-room

(Pssst. . .I’ll tell you a secret. . .it’s VINYL. No lie. It’s vinyl. It’s very nice vinyl–but it’s vinyl–and it is just fine.)

Meanwhile the septic installation crew left a huge pile of dirt which the kids took full advantage of when we brought them out after school. We didn’t have a camera with us to photograph the backhoe and deep, deep holes and big concrete septic tanks this morning. I know you are so sad about that.

kids-on-dirt-pile

Victoria was running up the pile, but the photo turned out incredibly funny. She kind of looks like a very happy periwinkle monkey.

victoria-dirt-pile1

victoria-dirt-pile

And since it was so cold. . .and since there was no snow but plenty of dirt. . .the kids made a Dirt Man. Life in the country don’t ya know.

dirtman

Here is Joss all clean. It is a long and complicated story as Joss has made the rounds of the neighborhood, but she finally got her “female issue” taken care of, and while she was at the vet she got a bath. Ain’t she purty?

joss-clean

So now, Joss and I are engaged. That’s right. Betrothed. Bound. I keep on telling her that I will be out there very, very soon, and that I promise to give her bed and bone as long as she doesn’t get run over. (Don’t tell Tony. . .but I think he already knows as the dog spent a large portion of Saturday either laying on me or following me around. And I’m sure I won’t have to REMIND him about the two snakes, tarantula, and various and sundry fish, reptiles, and amphibians that have passed through my KITCHEN. And my purses.) I kept my Jossified hands away from my face, but I had to hug her once.

roxanne-and-joss

11 thoughts on “Humor Me (again)

  1. Only in Texas. πŸ˜‰ Your house is turning out so pretty!!! And the kids are already enjoying their new yard and its natural resources. I don’t know how you made it home with all that extra dirt in tow. We’re praying for you guys and your showings!!

  2. That is the loveliest trench I have ever seen – the skill, the gentle curve, all of it, just glorious. ;0

    And the rest of the house is okay too…

    Seriously, I’m so excited for y’all I could scream. It’s just gorgeous and next year you’ll be spending your first Christmas there!

  3. I wuv Joss too, just look at the two of you. The story about you and Joss warms my heart πŸ™‚

    We have vinylwoodlook floors to. And yes, they are just fine!

    Oh, and Texas… I do have to cut Texas some slack. I’m half Texan, after all!

  4. Yep, that dog is yours.

    You will be glad you didn’t do ceramic tile in the kitchen. It is so hard on the knees and legs (even for us kinda young folks) and once you drop something, it is history.

    Love the new choice! That will look great with the white cabinets.

  5. Thanks for the kind words over on my blog.

    Gee, your house looks so pretty. I love to see ideas for home decor and layouts. We are getting our new kitchen floor laid in January. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I’ve made the right choice.

    Thanks again.

  6. Pingback: Bug-a-boo « It be's that way sometimes.

  7. Pingback: Coop Day USA | It Be's That Way Sometimes

Tell me what ya think.

