Blue and White

It is not yet May, and my love affair with the 8th grader is waning. They are stretching, reaching, pummeling, tearing, ripping their way toward high school. Therefore, I have been tired. Tired. Tired. Tired. And absent from my little blogosphere. Today was particularly trying and more than anything I wanted to crawl into a nice, comfortable hole and pull it in after me.

But the Mother & Daughter luncheon is on May 2nd and there is MUCH to do. MUCH. TO. DO. So I decided to do what I could, and tonight that was putting my blue and white dishes into my Granny’s china cabinet. Here is photographic evidence of the event that saved (barely) my sanity for today.

Granny's china cabinet with my blue and white Arden dishes and two crystal pieces--one from Momma and one a wedding gift.

Granny's china cabinet with my blue and white Arden dishes and two crystal pieces--one from Momma and one a wedding gift.

My Granny would only have loved this more if the dishes had lavender flowers.  She loved lavender.

My Granny would only have loved this more if the dishes had lavender flowers. She loved lavender.

I love the blue and white dishes with the blue and white walls and dark cherry furniture.

I love the blue and white dishes with the blue and white walls and dark cherry furniture.

Victoria helped too–with the sanity saving AND the china cabinet. At one point, all I could think to do to make me feel better was to get her into my lap. She was on the computer working on her novel (no lie–and it’s VERY well written), but she obliged and told me about her day. There is something healing in holding your daughter on your lap–even when she doesn’t fit anymore.

We made it work.

Today was “gel pen day” in science class. I am pretty sure it was “gel pen day” because Victoria’s teacher is having the same problem with her 5th graders that I’m having with my 8th. My girl, however, is one that TRULY LOVED getting to do her science study guide in pink and purple gel pen, “. . .’cause we’re SUPPOSED to do them in pencil, Momma, but Mrs. Detering said it would be okay for ONE day to use the special gel pens that the P.T.O. gave her.”

Tomorrow I need to pay more attention to the ones that love what we are doing in class–or at least choose to politely endure it. Maybe we need a gel pen day in 8th grade.

9 thoughts on “Blue and White

  1. Oh, my. I can’t imagine trying to set up house AND throw a fabulous tea AND deal with the drama of eighth graders too. You are a wonder. You inspire me to face my foyer squarely today, because it is not nearly as daunting as a horde of near-high-schoolers.

    I can’t wait to read Victoria’s books someday. As much as she reads, they have to be good!

  2. That is so pretty.
    I know about that big kid in the lap feeling… Z is too big, not really, no really, no not really, and still snuggles up when we watch tv sometimes, but he’s my baby, so this is it for me 😦
    I love that Victoria is writing! I can’t wait to read her novel. I am sure you can give her lot of tips! Like mother like daughter πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: *Crickets* « It be’s that way sometimes.

  4. Pingback: Catching up « It be’s that way sometimes.

Tell me what ya think.

