It’s beginning to look a lot like home.

The lighting is bad, because I took these at night. . .but the desire to do so hit me, so I went with it. Our walls are still frightfully barren, but things are starting to shape up. As you will see from the captions, this was a “group” effort. Even if some of the ladies don’t know they were part of the group.

The first thing you see when you walk into my house. . .along with a pile of shoes by the front door.  Floral arrangement courtesy of my sister.  Table was my Granny's.

The first thing you see when you walk into my house. . .along with a pile of shoes by the front door. Floral arrangement courtesy of my sister. Table was my Granny's.

Plaque that is on the table in the entryway. . .it was supposed to go by the doorbell, but I plunked it on a photo stand, and we like it here.

Plaque that is on the table in the entryway. . .it was supposed to go by the doorbell, but I plunked it on a photo stand, and we like it here.

My Granny's drop-leaf table.  One day the photo tree from my Momma will have black and white family photos in it.  Doily is Italian lace from my friend Carolyn.

My Granny's drop-leaf table. One day the photo tree from my Momma will have black and white family photos in it. Doily is Italian lace from my friend Carolyn.

This is standing at the fireplace looking back toward the entry and dining room.  I conveniently cropped the pile of clean clothes that need to be folded OUT of the shot.

This is standing at the fireplace looking back toward the entry and dining room. I conveniently cropped the pile of clean clothes that need to be folded OUT of the shot.

My friend Jennifer helped me with my mantle wall. . .lots of trial and error, but I like it.  And more importantly, so does Tony.

My friend Jennifer helped me with my mantle wall. . .lots of trial and error, but I like it. And more importantly, so does Tony.

My favorite side. . .I\'m normally not a colored candle kind of gal, but this one was just right.  It\'s sitting atop a little grapevine wreath.  Vase + eucalyptus = $20 @ WalMart.

My favorite side. . .I\'m normally not a colored candle kind of gal, but this one was just right. It\'s sitting atop a little grapevine wreath. Vase + eucalyptus = $20 @ WalMart.

Top of the entertainment armoire.  This was the hard part.  Yes, there are tags dangling from the photo stands and a sticker on the hurricane globe.  Long, long story.  Raided the study for "books to match" my color scheme, iron birdhouse Tues. Morning, photo of the kids I gave Tony for Father's Day when Thad was 2.

Top of the entertainment armoire. This was the hard part.


Yes, there are tags dangling from the photo stands and a sticker on the hurricane globe. Long, long story that ended in the breaking of glass. Raided the study for “books to match” my color scheme, cast iron birdhouse from Tuesday Morning, photo of the kids I gave Tony for Father’s Day when Thad was 2.

Dining Room, The cabinet you can see totally see was my Granny's.

Dining Room, The cabinet you can see totally see was my Granny's.

Coming into the dining room from the entryway.  This china cabinet is the one I got at the flea market.

Coming into the dining room from the entryway. This china cabinet is the one I got at the flea market.

Crystal dish was given to me by Mrs. Ladelle for my wedding, and the doily was given to my by my friend Carolyn.

Crystal dish was given to me by Mrs. Ladelle for my wedding, and the doily was given to my by my friend Carolyn.

Extra chairs for Granny's table.  My cousin reupholstered them several years ago.  My wall is looking a little purple in this one.

Extra chairs for Granny's table. My cousin reupholstered them several years ago. My wall is looking a little purple in this one.

And there you have it. The craft room is also doing much better. . .but the lighting in there at night, while wonderful for reading, writing short notes, contemplation, and readying one’s self for bed, is ATROCIOUS for picture taking.

Y’all come see us!!!!

7 thoughts on “It’s beginning to look a lot like home.

  1. So, so pretty! The china cabinets look great together and your granny’s table is perfect in that spot! So glad to see these!

  2. Oh, that was a lovely tour. You have put a lot of heart into your decorating, it shows your style so nicely. And how perfect it all becomes with the heirloom furniture pieces. The Duncan Phyfe table is very similar to the one we just inherited from John’s grandmother.

Tell me what ya think.

