Renaissance Sights

Each year the Texas Renaissance Festival (click at your own risk. . .video and loud bagpipe music ahead) is attended by thousands. . .literally. There are die hards who live for it, make costumes for it, plan for it.

The day we went there were 32,000 there and that was just one day of one weekend. The kids and I had never been, Tony hadn’t been in years, and I can tell you right now that Thad will NOT be going as a teenaged boy. The wench costumes and chain-mail slave costumes are NOT for those with hormones surging. As it stood, he was only interested in his wooden sword this year. I’m not really a festival kind of gal, but it was a gorgeous fall day, and the kids had a good time with Tony’s parents and us too. The entire thing is 54 acres. We saw about 10. Here are some of the sights. . .

2 thoughts on “Renaissance Sights

  1. I love the Renaissance Fairs! I don’t dress up , but I love that others do. We went to the one that’s in Kansas City, oh, about 4 or 5 years ago. I have a great picture of Z enjoying a turkey “drum leg” the size of his head! This past October the 9th grade GT-ers went… yes I did send my 14-year old up there, amongst all the wenches and chainmail…. though he came home with stories of swords and awesomest-ever shields, bow shooting tournaments, and JOUSTING!!

    1. We had turkey legs, but I was too busy eating to take a picture. The kids and I shared one. It was GOOD. 🙂 And who cares about wenches when there’s jousting to be had!

Tell me what ya think.