Random Dozen

Linda over at Second Cup of Coffee does this random dozen meme each week. Seriously. . .don’t know WHERE she pulls the questions. . .she does them herself. Amazing. Anyway–last week’s were good, and I’m stealin’ this week’s to answer, so here goes.

The Random Dozen prompt for this week:

1. Have you ever been so lost that you were really afraid?
Yes. The first time I was able to drive after having Victoria. (I think it was two weeks after we brought her home.) I took her to the doctor for her check-up. I managed to get her in the car, get her to the pediatrician, then I drove home–the same way I’d been driving for the past two years–but I suddenly realized that I recognized NOTHING. Not a house. Not a tree. Not a landmark of any sort. I had NO idea where I was, and I was tired, and the baby needed to nurse. Can we say sleep-deprived? I kept going until I saw a road that looked familiar, then turned there. We made it home.”

2. Have you ever been to an island?
I live 60 miles from one, so yes. Galveston. ‘Taint much, but it’s what we’ve got. . .

3. Are you more of a thinker or feeler?
I think about my feelings. . . Little humor there. . .
I would say that I am equal parts of both. I strongly believe in intuition, but as a preacher we knew once said, “Walk by faith, but don’t be stupid.” Same things goes for feeling too much and thinking too little.

4. Do you tend to see issues or situations in life as black and white or shades of gray?
Some things are very black and white, but I believe there to be a lot more GUH-RAY. . .lots and lots of shades, from charcoal to dingy white. . .

5. If you were stuck on an island, what book would you hope to have with you (Let’s pretend the Bible is already there, so you can’t say that.)
The Anne books by L.M. Montgomery or To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

6. What are you most afraid of?
Diet Coke being discontinued. . .no, seriously, something happening to my husband or children.

7. Would you rather lose all of your old memories or never be able to make new ones?
That’s a hard one. I cherish my old memories. . .they are the stuff of which I’m made. . .but then I would essentially carry all of that with me whether I knew it or not. Life is about moving forward, so I would say I’d lose all of my old memories to be able to focus on what I have now.

8. Pretend I’m looking at a scrapbook page about you. There are three spaces for you to drop in individual pictures. What are those pictures of, and why did you select them?
One is a photo of me with my brother and sister sitting with my Granny and Papaw in the livingroom of their home. It’s childhood–stability–the way I grew up.
One is a photo of the collage painting Stephanie did of Tony, the kids and me in front of our old house.
One is a photo Tony took of me about four years ago. He managed to capture who I am on the inside.

9. If you were re-doing your wedding, what would you do differently? (If you’re single, tell me one thing you would do if you were planning a wedding OR huge party.)
I would CHILL. I would do my own flowers or have MUCH LESS expensive ones. I would order bride’s maid dresses off the rack. I would go to bed at a somewhat decent time the night before. I would NOT ask my mother to make her wonderful punch. It is STILL my favorite punch, but not something she should have been worrying about the day I got married.

10. Tell me one thing you know/believe about forgiveness.
Freely you have received. Freely give. And forgiving doesn’t always mean forgetting. And remembering isn’t always bad.

11. You’re waiting in a doctor’s office. What is your favorite way to pass that time? Reading a magazine I don’t get. Writing a letter.

12. If there were a clone of you in a parallel universe what is one way you hope she/he would be the same as you and one way you hope she/he would be better?
I would hope she would still be a people person–approachable, open, sincere. Other than hoping she’d weigh 70 pounds less (workin’ on that), I would hope she would procrastinate less, and cut herself some slack.

2 thoughts on “Random Dozen

  1. I said my book on the island would be TKAM except I love it so much if it was the only one I had I might start to hate it! And that would very sad…

    Good answers! Good to meet you!

Tell me what ya think.

