Mother’s Day Weekend

My Mother’s Day weekend has been lovely. . .Saturday the children and I spent the morning doing whatever we wanted. Tony was at a thing at church with his mom and dad, so the kiddos and I watched the kittens play.


Buttercup is the hardest one to photograph. . .she has these lovely lines and poses that she holds for about three seconds. . .then she is off like a shot.


The kittens love to stalk and attack each other. They jump and hiss and arch their pretty, little backs and make all manner of noises.


Tony’s collection of potted crepe myrtles and redbuds and live oak saplings are their own personal jungle. Poppy has found her inner wildcat.


Here Buttercup and Penny are a little confused as to what, exactly, the children are doing.


And this is what they were doing. . .no high tech toys for the kitties OR the kids. Potted plants and leftover grass palettes will do just fine. The children were jumping on it to see who could stay on the longest. And exactly how much racket their mother could stand.


All the kittens love the cinderblocks, but Penny has pretty much claimed them as her own. If you can’t find her anywhere else, it’s a safe bet she’ll be here.


She has turned out to be the most photogenic of the three as well. Anytime I point the camera at Buttercup–she takes off. Poppy can be caught on occasion, but Penny actually seems to POSE for the camera. She is also the most feisty, so maybe she’s DARING me to take her picture.

Here she is ready for her closeup, Mr. DeMille. Maybe we should have named her Cleopatra.

At 11:00 the kids went to my yoga instructor’s first Kid’s Yoga class. Have I told you how much I LOVE my yoga instructor? Well. . .I do. She’s just wonderful. And she prays during yoga–which reminds me every time that I am in the exact right place. The kiddos loved it. Victoria can do a perfect plow with absolutely NO hesitation or assistance from her hands. It took her about half a heartbeat to get into this position. Thad, on the other hand, is the one that did the bow pose like a pro. Either way, they can both, literally, bend over backwards. And they both want to go again.

We then ate a leisurely lunch, perused an antique store Victoria and I have wanted to visit, and walked the Magnolia Stroll–a new crushed clay walkway down the “main drag” of Magnolia. It was a perfect temperature and a perfect morning.

I was awakened today by some toast and a bowl of Corn Chex in bed–a lovely necklace that Victoria made for me, and flowers picked just this morning by Thad. Unfortunately, Tony got what I had a couple of weeks ago, so when the tire was flat after church, Jennifer volunteered Greg to change it for me. It was a good thing that he was already wearing black pants. I am perfectly capable of changing a tire, but a white skirt and pastel pink blouse are hardly tire-changing apparel. I’m just sayin’. And I’m also sayin’, “Thank you, Greg!!!!!”

As our Daddy was not with us, we didn’t go out to eat, but we DID grab some chicken and head home (very slowly on our donut tire) for lunch and a nap.

So. . .it was a lovely weekend. Summer is knocking on our door, and we are ready to go.

6 thoughts on “Mother’s Day Weekend

  1. I’m glad you can change a tire. It has been a loooong time since Coach Jones taught us how to do that in drivers’ ed.

  2. Happy Mom Day! Sorry about that flat tire – but were there no flat tires how could we truly appreciate our friends? πŸ˜‰
    Hope your evening is a peaceful one. *Hug to you*

Tell me what ya think.

