They Say

that even when on vacation or the weekend, you should keep your same hours so as not to interrupt your natural cycle. And I have blown that all to pieces.

To be quite frank, my natural cycle has been interrupted since I had children. Even graduating from college (my FAVORITE and most Natural Schedule years OF ALL EVER) and getting a job did not interrupt my natural rhythms like having babies did. . .then I got older. . .and also still had to work. . .and be nice to people.

But if I could, I would stay up until 2:00 a.m., get up around 9:00, do Some Stuff, take a nap from 1:00-4:00 in the afternoon, then stay up until 2:00 a.m. again.

Today I slept.

A lot.

I slept until nearly 9:00 a.m. Then I got up. Then I laid back down. Then I got up. Then I took a nap. Then I went to yoga. Then I went to the dollar store, and Hobby Lobby, and Wal Mart and came home and spray painted four plastic dollar store frames cherry red (Krylon Fusion don’tcha know–works like a CHARM) and watched most of a movie with the Husband.

I’m not sure if it’s all the sleep–or the yoga–or the fact that I’ve thrown my regular schedule to the wind in favor or my REAL schedule (the one buried deep down in the core of me), but it’s been a good day.

I plan to NOT keep my schedule again tomorrow. Or is that just my new schedule? Or reverting to my old schedule? Maybe like MUSCLE memory, there is such a thing as SCHEDULE memory. . .

4 thoughts on “They Say

  1. I can so relate to this. I live on a schedule that just doesn’t feel right for me. I go to bed at 10 and wake up at 6. What I’d like to is go to bed at 2:00 a.m and wake at 10 or 11. I’m so much more productive late at night.

    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and for your kind words. I deleted the post because I worried about my kids’ reactions to it. But your comment was helpful and beautiful.

  2. I hear / read what you and Heidi are saying/ typing, but simply cannot imagine. “Too much talk… gobble gobble gobble…” That is what it sounds like to me. Sleeping from 11p to about… 7 or 8a. I’m good.

    • Oh, Sarah. You and Edna Mode. Yes, I am WELL AWARE of your own sleep preferences. . .and have heard YOU gobble a time or two. Normally when you’ve not gotten enough sleep. 🙂

Tell me what ya think.

