Hi. My name is Roxanne. This is my blog.

At least I think it is. I used to come over here to divulge bits and pieces of myself to you. . .alas, a couple of bad colds, several busy weeks, and life have occurred leaving me busy but quiet.

No. Really. I CAN be quiet. . .and if I am, either something is wrong or I am too busy to talk–which is very, very busy indeed.

I have spend three solid hours in my son’s room today. This did absolutely NOTHING to help my allergies OR to fold the ginormous pile of laundry in the floor of the living room. However, should our house catch fire in the middle of the night, neither Thad nor any fireman will be injured trying to get into or out of his bedroom or bathroom. It was not so at 2:45 this afternoon.

Now, we are off to take Victoria to Girl Scouts and make a trip to WalMart and then home again, where the clothes will still be in a big pile in the middle of the living room floor. This is especially irksome as I had actually GOTTEN THE LAUNDRY IN HAND. . .literally. All the clothing was contained in the appropriate color waiting-to-be-washed baskets. Stacks for each family member were folded neatly atop the shelf in the laundry room, then at least taken to their bedroom so you could SEE the shelf in the laundry room. Then I got sick with ick and allergies and had two busy weekends and THAT went down the tubes. You CAN actually see the shelf in the laundry room right now. You just can’t see the living room floor.

It’s autumn. It’s been dry, so this is a year with little color and lots of dead, brown leaves falling. There was a freak wind on Friday, so leaves and pine needles were everywhere. Saturday dawned cloudy. Around noon there was a little rain, and the scent of my childhood blew into the car windows on the way to Thad’s Cub Scout event. It was the scent of damp, dead leaves on a muggy day which meant that Daddy was in the deer stand and would be home when it either got too hot or when he had a deer. Heady stuff that sensory memory, smells and songs seem to be the strongest ones for me.

And now, I have to go. I’ll try to get back here before November. How are you?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 thoughts on “Hi. My name is Roxanne. This is my blog.

    • Thinking of you. Wondering if there is any definitive news. Wondering if Ashley is marching in cool weather or hot. Wondering if Riley is kicking for all he’s worth.

  1. Glad to read your words, here, again.
    Autumn is indeed in full swing. Up here, The Dad has already brought home 3 deer. The Oldest Son got the doe, the one that mocked him a couple of weeks ago, this evening. We may need to invest in a larger freezer if they keep it up.
    I, like you, spent over three hours in a certain little brother’s room cleaning cleaning cleaning. Two big garage sale boxes, mounds of old clothes, infinite pieces of Legos.
    All that and I’ve been listening to music, evoking long ago memories. I love and hate the way music does that…
    My house smells like salmon patties.

  2. You blog?? No way! I wanna blog too!

    I’m glad you’re getting some fallishness down there. Seems kind of late up this way. No changes in the trees at all yet, but those yellow bushy flowers are everywhere!

    • So, to fulfill this blogging desire, do you plan to give up home-schooling. . .delay Judah’s arrival indefinitely. . .or send one (or more) of the other back? šŸ™‚

      I did LOVE seeing your stack of Judah things all cut and sewn and washed and stacked. . .

  3. I’m a little glad you haven’t had time to update your blog, because I haven’t had time to stay up-to-date on my blog reading. Yes, I know that is selfish of me, but for at least today, I am okay with that.

  4. Also, I just realized that my above comment may have sounded snotty. I really was trying to go for a funny, witty comment. Apparently, funny and witty have left me at the moment.

Tell me what ya think.

