The Cold and All Its Relatives

Has moved into our house.

I was stricken last Wed. mid-day. . .and things just got worse from there. This included coming STRAIGHT home from school and going STRAIGHT to the couch AND very decent bedtimes as well as many, many over the counter products and LOADS of good quality vitamins, and ALL WEEKEND in a recumbent position.

Alas. I found myself with an entire symphony of sounds emanating from my lungs (which should be SILENT organs). When one awakens one’s spouse with noises from one’s lungs, one is in some dire bronchial stress. Just sayin’.

So. Off to the doctor I went yesterday. And home again I came with two different inhalers, a strong antibiotic, and a bottle codeine laced cough syrup. When I take cough syrup IMMEDIATELY upon entering my home, and look forward to taking it again here soon, then I’m one, sick puppy. I DID go back to school today–kids had to be reviewed for a test. But I was cronky about it. No codeine during the school day. . .combining that with a drive of 35 miles is NOT good.

Victoria was home today with fever and a cough and a runny nose. Thad now has some red-rimmed eyes, a sneeze, and purple shadows under his lower lids. We must, must, must keep Tony healthy as he has his OWN situation with which to deal next Wednesday, and I must be healthy to play nurse.

I may bathe the entire house in Lysol just for good measure.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 thoughts on “The Cold and All Its Relatives

  1. Geez! Who called down the plague?! I’m praying you get some healthier days soon! An inch of sliced ginger root steeped in boiled water, plus a little honey, always makes me feel better. If it’s spicy enough it clears the head right up.

  2. Here’s hoping you’ve all recovered and can enjoy Christmas tomorrow. You’ve certainly been hit hard this month.
    Happy Holidays to you and your family.

Tell me what ya think.

