Spark(le)

I have a friend. His name is David. He has known me since I was about 12. And obnoxious. And loud. And emotional. Wait. . .am I still 12????

No. Seriously. David Mathews was my Bible teacher in 8th, 10th, and 12th grades at the little school where Sarah and I attended. He had an office upstairs in the gym in the chapel area–which was also where we did our plays–and I spent A LOT of time there. I called him Mr. Mathews then. Until my Senior year. Then I think I may have called him Mathews. . .or David. But not in class.

Eighteen years ago this June, David laid his father to rest, then drove at break-neck speed to northeastern Louisiana to perform my wedding ceremony. Seriously.

Needless to say, I love David Mathews. . .and his wife Debbie AND their four children (who wouldn’t know me from Adam. . .hey, one of their kids IS Adam) and their grand kids who REALLY don’t know me.

I just found out about this: Spark of Life Grief Recovery Retreats. (This is a link, but it’s not turning blue for some reason.)

David and Debbie are the lead counselors, and it is *FREE* to anyone who has experienced grief or loss. David had this to say, “We have some openings for our Spark of Life Grief Recovery Retreat at Tanglewood Resort – north of Dallas – Feb. 17-20 – This is FREE for anyone who has experienced loss, or anyone in the helping profession who works with those who have experienced loss – all food, rooms, materials provided by folks who care – tell others – register at. . .www.sparkoflife.org.

If you know someone who needs this, please send this information on to them. If they cannot make the February date, there are other dates available on the website.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One thought on “Spark(le)

Tell me what ya think.

