Cross Country

So. I’m not much of a runner. I’ve tried it a time or three (watched Victor Borge tonight with the kids–inflationary language ya know) and it just never worked right for me. The last time I really cut loose at full tilt, I had to make a choice between colliding with a newspaper dispenser on the sidewalk outside my apartment at Harding or taking out my knee. I picked the knee. It hasn’t forgiven me yet.

I prefer to walk. And I do it well. And I can walk a fair clip. But Victoria has been running Cross Country, and I am so proud of her I can barely stand it. It is a GREAT sport for her, because she’s on a team and the only person against whom she competes is herself. I can’t say enough good things about her wonderful coach. . .the other kids. . .how they support each other. . .how she has grown by participating and excelling in this sport.

I have been photographing the team each week. We didn’t go to the first meet (nor did any of the kiddos) due to the fires, but Victoria has made the cut for every meet since. I love watching these kids run–the ones who come in first nearly every race and the ones in the middle of the pack and the ones that trail along toward the end. I love it, because each of them is giving it their all–even if they walk some, they ALWAYS finish. And they finish STRONG.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Here they are in order if you want to see them a little bigger.

4 thoughts on “Cross Country

  1. I am sorry you have that bum knee… But walking is good good stuff. I love that Vic has caught the running bug. I remember when Weylin ran cross-country in 8th and 9th grades and those meets were so surprisingly emotional for me. As much as I tried not to, I ALWAYS got the biggest lump in my throat and tears always welled (and fell!) when those kids ran to the finish line. It was so filling and inspirational on so many levels. And you are right, it didn’t matter if it was the first to cross or the big middle group, or the ones that come in last. I always waited and cheered until the last one crossed the line – often cheering them the loudest šŸ™‚ I miss those cross country meets. I do still aim to run a race myself one day.

  2. I LOVE all these pictures!! The one of the four girls together and all of Victoria red faced and sweating! She worked hard and you can tell! Good work Victoria!

  3. Love all of the pics. Love the smiley kid — as a runner, I’ve read stuff that says if you aren’t smiling while you run, you’ve forgotten why you’re doing it. I’ve evidently forgotten. I wrote an article about a cross country runner with cerebral palsey who runs all of his meets on his crutches. Will never finish first, but definitely keeps the tears coming as he crosses the finish line. Love what cross country does for kids and the fans.

  4. My goal in running cross country was just to make it through the season, being painfully slow and slightly asthmatic. Kids who can do it well are my heroes. Good on ya, Victoria!!! And great shots!

Tell me what ya think.

