Advent-ure

Sung to the tune of “Camptown Races”

“Tomorrow is December first, doo-dah, doo-dah
We’ll have Advent calendars on this doo-dah day. . .”

We didn’t do Advent calendars at my house when I was growing up. We didn’t do Advent calendars in my house where I am a parent until last year. Thad had REALLY wanted a Lego Advent Calendar. . .so I had to put my thinking cap on for Victoria. She got bags and boxes with cute numbers and paper and curling ribbons. Thad cares not about boxes or bags or curling ribbons. . .he wants Lego–toot sweet.

Tomorrow morning they will awaken to find their little gifts all set out. They aren’t expecting it. . .they know we are doing it again this year, but they haven’t really connected the fact that tomorrow is December 1st and that’s when it begins. Besides, my brother was here tonight to have dinner with us, so that excitement pretty much outweighed any other thought.

I hope you are enjoying Christmas traditions either new or old at your house too. This weekend? The Christmas village gets set up. NEXT weekend. . .the tree!!!

One thought on “Advent-ure

Tell me what ya think.

