Watching a Movie with My Girl

Victoria has not felt well this week. It’s just a cold, but this morning, I took one look at her and knew she needed to stay home and rest. I sent lesson plans via e-mail and telephone, and then sent her back to bed and crawled back in myself having felt the same way she has for the same amount of time.

When I woke up again, I found her in front of the computer working on a yearbook spread with her algebra and English homework completed. Yes–she is THAT child. PLUS, she had already bemoaned the fact that she would miss school today. “I don’t WANT to miss school. We are Doing Things, and I will miss Them.” There were two reasons she relented. One: She felt crummy. Two: She has made it to the district science fair again this year and judging is tomorrow. She’d rather miss Things today than miss explaining her project tomorrow afternoon.

In an effort to keep her still–I proposed a movie–Sense and Sensibility. Now from the time she was a tiny thing, she has asked about a million and two questions during a movie–DRIVES HER DADDY NUTS!!! When we first showed her and Thad The Lord of the Rings trilogy–we set her up with a notebook and pen to write down questions. I promised her we would stop every so often so that I could answer them.

It was the same today–it’s a two hour movie (1995 version with Hugh Grant, Alan Rickman, etc.), but it took us a little over three hours to watch it. Seriously. There was that much stopping and starting and rewinding and explaining and . . .you get the picture. ESPECIALLY since this is my analytical, pragmatic, logical 13 1/2 year old who finds the class system of 17th century England ridiculous. The notion of a woman not being able to make her own way in the world–having to marry for money and station, or keep an engagement of marriage that you gave or accepted rashly–having to hide one’s true feelings and speak in riddles, well, it was beyond her.

Maybe one day she will, instead, watch the film (or read the book) and recognize the forward thinking of one Jane Austen–how she shows that even in that time period SOME girls wished for more: an education, a job, a marriage filled with love rather than money or convenience alone. As the mother of a girl who tends to shake off the entrapments of a 2012 teenager, I think Victoria will some day find she has more in common with this genre than she thinks.

Meanwhile–I got to spend the afternoon with her, and talk about how things have changed and how things have not. . .I got to tell her (again) that even if she decides on the way down the aisle hanging on to her Daddy’s arm that she CANNOT marry the man waiting at the front for her–she can stop it all. AND I got to watch a GREAT movie.

One thought on “Watching a Movie with My Girl

  1. I love the idea of having a notebook handy for thoughts and questions! Last night we watched Avatar, and Zane’s comments centered around the implausibility of something-something caliber bullets being able to penetrate the windows of the helicopters and other flying crafts, and the g-force impact on a human man inside a giant robot thing when it hops several meters down to the ground… and on and on.

Tell me what ya think.

