“In the Style of” on a Tuesday night

I just read a post from my friend, Rebecca. It is an AWESOME post written “in the style of” one of her favorite authors. I went to the link she posted so I could see how to “play” as she put it. Alas, my brain will not play like that at 9:55 on a Tuesday, but I CAN share with you a little snippet from an author that makes me WANT to write. I wrote about Natalie Babbitt here originally. I give you the excerpt again, and look toward the day when I can accept the challenge of using HER style to write a little ditty.

From Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt

“The road to Treegap had been trod out long before by a herd of cows who were, to say the least, relaxed. It wandered along in curves and easy angles, swayed up and off in a pleasant tangent to the top of a small hill, ambled down again between fringes of bee-hung clover, and then cut sidewise across a meadow. Here its edges blurred. It widened and seemed to pause, suggesting tranquil bovine picnics: slow chewing and thoughtful contemplation of the infinite. And then it went on again and came atlast to the wood. But on reaching the shadow of the first trees, it veered sharply, swung out in a wide arc as if, for the first time, it had reason to think where it was going. . .In the end, however, it was the cows who were responsible for the wood’s isolation, and the cows, through some wisdom they were not wise enough to know they possessed, were very wise indeed.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One thought on ““In the Style of” on a Tuesday night

Tell me what ya think.

