“Where, oh Where are you tonight? Why did you leave me here all alone?”

“I searched the world over, and I thought I found true love. You met another and pfffft you were gone.”

Ah. . .the sounds of my childhood. Where, exactly, have I been? It was a busy, busy summer. I got done with school, and had a week at home in which I had an interview. Then we left on vacation, and the principal of Magnolia Jr. High (where Tony works) called and said, “We want you to come work at Magnolia Jr. High.” And I said, “Weeeeeeeeeeellllllllllll. . .I’ll THINK about it.” Actually, I accepted before he even asked, it was just one of those formalities that must be observed.

Then we traveled several places and went to several camps and were so busy that we didn’t even have time to go SWIMMING. I kid you not. Then it was time for me to clean out my old room and start work at my new school. My mom came, and I got my new room put together, and I met a whole bunch of new kids and new staff and THAT, my friends, is where I’ve been. There was lots of other stuff too, but that is, as J.K. Rowling’s characters so often say, “Enough to be going on with.”

Last night, our family made our way across the street to see our neighbors. I was borrowing a movie from them to use in my classroom–we are studying the archetype of the hero and the hero’s journey. I’m just goin’ with it–it’s part of the curriculum. ANYWAY, I had not seen my lovely neighbor Ruth, and her dashing husband, Rick in far too long. She said she was glad to see me happy and well, because when my blog vanished and I didn’t show up outside for most of the summer, she was more than a little concerned.

So here I am. I have plenty of blog fodder. I no longer commute 70 miles per day. I am in the same car with my family going to and from work unless we have to take TWO cars for some reason. My world is full of happy sunshine and rainbows SERIOUSLY. This morning was “Meet You at the Pole” here in Texas, and I’m assuming everywhere. I stepped outside with the kids and listened to them pray, then our counselor offered us all a time to pray silently. I thanked God for all of my blessings–I thanked Him over and over and over. And the only thing I asked was that he guard my mind when I begin to doubt the wonderfulness of my life. When I begin to think that things are TOO good. That I am TOO blessed. That something HAS to go wrong, because things can’t be this wonderful all the time. I don’t think that too often, but you know that Satan likes to interject fear and doubt as often as he can. And I know that even when things DO go wrong or something bad DOES happen, I am still blessed.

But right now–well, right now is a time of deep and utter contentment. I feel stress climbing up the stem of my brain, and then I remember that there is nothing to keep at bay. All is well.

All is well.

And now, for a Hee-Haw reference. You’re welcome.

4 thoughts on ““Where, oh Where are you tonight? Why did you leave me here all alone?”

  1. “When I begin to think that things are TOO good. That I am TOO blessed. That something HAS to go wrong, because things can’t be this wonderful all the time… I know that even when things DO go wrong or something bad DOES happen, I am still blessed. ”

    Amen, dude. Preach it.

    And major league props for the Hee Haw from a (once) religious (6 year old) devotee.

    Glad to see you around these parts once more.

  2. Gratitude and truly feeling bless seems to be a theme for the fall season. I agree, sometimes the temptation to doubt overwhelms us and often we must remind ourselves that we are in the hands of the divine and in that knowing we will always feel safe.

  3. Good to have an update. I am catching up and I’m behind on the blogging myself. As for Hee Haw, I don’t have to tell you I was raised on it. 🙂 I did this little skit with a co-worker once and we made up our own dialogue. Love it!

Tell me what ya think.

