Ummm. . .

There are many reasons for why I’ve been absent from this blog for over a year.  Many of them have to do with having a Senior in high school, now Freshman in college–changes to my job and getting myself established in a new class with creating curriculum and managing over 400 students per year for the past two school years–and creating four year high school plans for them all–plus the 100 that can’t fit into the class.

More than anything, I’ve been tired.  Just flat out exhausted mentally.  I come home after my day of wrangling 30-36 kids per class, cook dinner, and collapse.  Things are beginning to settle in a bit–and I need to write.  I need it for my brain and to remember things–times, events, emotions.  I need it.

Instagram gets most of my thoughts and traffic these days, but that is not REALLY writing.   It’s like fast food when what you REALLY want and/or need is some good, home cooking.  And writing is a good thing.  At least for me.

Last year my word was “perspective.”  This year my word is “this.”  It was inspired by the picture below.  A gal I follow on Instagram saw it outside of a dance studio.  It seems  like nothing. . .it’s not really a big word, but it can mean so much.this

When Victoria was about 3 1/2, we got a box of hand me downs from my friend, Carolyn.  I opened the box and began taking the clothes out as Victoria and I discussed what she wanted to be for Halloween.  All of a sudden, she spotted something in the box, reached in (almost fell in–it was a big box), grabbed a shimmery, shiny, slippery, satiny pink and silver spangled item of clothing and said, “I want to be THIS!”  She didn’t even know what it was–but whatever it was she was going to be it.

So–to me, “This” means whatever is in front of you–whatever you set your mind to do–whatever is your focus needs to be it.  No multi-tasking or running off and doing something else that crosses your mind.  THIS–this moment, this conversation, this nap, this meal, this time with my child or my husband or my friend–THIS is where my focus should be.

3 thoughts on “Ummm. . .

Tell me what ya think.

