Happy June 12th

This is a good day for our family. Seven years ago today this little man showed up.

With him came things like this. . .

. . .and this. . .

. . .and this. . .

. . .and this.

He has slept like this since he was born. I have photos of him in a bassinet doing the same thing with his arms. My Daddy slept this way. You can’t deny DNA–no matter how much my child LOOKS like my husband, my Daddy is in there too.

Thad was unleased upon the world because eight years earlier, I married his Daddy.

And fifteen years hence, I cannot imagine my life without either of them. They think the same way. They pout the same way. Their shoulders droop when they are in despair in the same way. They wear their shoes out in the EXACT SAME PLACE. They have the same eyes, the same early childhood speech impediment, the same quirks, the same ability to squat with their rear end 1/2 an inch off the ground for hours at a time. Just sit down already!!!!!! They both carry their own worlds with them wherever they go. Right now they are in the floor putting together a new Lego set just glad to have tummies full of cake and icecream and to be on the planet. Happy birthday, boy. Happy anniversary, honey.

I love you both.

5 thoughts on “Happy June 12th

  1. Stephanie

    It sound like the boys celebrated in style, I can’t think of a better way to be than together 🙂

    Hope you and Tony get a chance to celebrate together as well. You deserve it!

    And I’m glad “June 12, 2008” turned out to be a GOOD thing, because when I saw the post title the first thing that crossed my mind was that someone had died! Thankfully, the post was about a great date!!

    By the way, I had to smile, because Z and J are so much alike too. ANd Z was born just two days after our (7th) anniversary 🙂

  2. Changed the title just for you. 🙂 I intended it to mean THIS June 12th as opposed to the June 12th of 1993 or the June 12th of 2001. But I most definitely see your point.

Tell me what ya think.